Deleting a SharePoint sub site is relatively straightforward, but there are few things you should consider before getting rid of a site.
How deleting a site is different from deleting a file?
When you delete a document or list item, SharePoint moves that item into your Recycle Bin where it stays for 30 days. During this time you can immediately recover it from the recycle bin if you accidentally deleted it. After 30 days it moves to IT Admin’s Recycle Bin (Site Collection Administrator) for another 30 to 90 days based on how the site is set-up.
On the other hand, when you delete a SharePoint sub site it’s deleted immediately from SharePoint leaving no trace. You cannot recover it from the Recycle Bin. You have to rely on your IT administrator to retrieve the site from their backup infrastructure. Depending on how backup is set up by your administrator it may be a relatively complex and time consuming process to recover your site. So only delete a site if you are absolutely sure.
I know what I’m doing, just show me how.
Click on the Settings Gear Icon at the top right corner of the screen and click on Site Settings.
This will take you to the Site Settings screen. Click on Delete this site under Site Actions.
Click OK when prompted for confirmation.